MULTI70 EDMOND DE ROTHSCHILD

Originally, this craft was a 70-foot one-design trimaran belonging to the MOD70 class. Since then though, the multihull has undergone numerous transformations to become a genuine test laboratory. Measuring 21.3 metres in length and 17 metres wide, this boat draws great inspiration from the former multihulls of the ORMA class.

FRA 4

Sail number

GITANA XV
Given name
Category Multihull, Ultime Length 21.3 m
Year of launch 2011 Naval architect(s) VPLP yacht design
Upwind sail area 310 m² Downwind sail area 409 m²





Launched in late 2011, the trimaran was initially intended to compete in a one-design championship grouping together around seven identical multihulls. Within this context, she participated in 2012 in the inaugural transatlantic race between New York and Brest - The Krys Ocean Race – in which she secured 2nd place, as well as completing a European Multihull Tour. However, in 2013, due to the lack of a circuit, Gitana Team fashioned their own customised programme that included the ArMen Race, the Route des Princes, the Rolex Fastnet Race and the unforgettable participation by the Josse - Caudrelier pairing in the Transat Jacques Vabre, which was unquestionably the highlight.

In 2014, the multihull fitted out by Baron Benjamin de Rothschild was adapted to singlehanded sailing so as to participate in the Route du Rhum’s star category, the Ultimes. No longer adhering to a strict one-design format, the boat became the Multi70 Edmond de Rothschild. Before setting sail on the famous transatlantic race between Saint Malo and Pointe-à-Pitre, the trimaran underwent further transformation. This began with work on the ergonomics to adapt the deck layout to solo configuration. In this vein, additional protection was added to the helming stations and the pit, the existing cuddy being replaced by an external watch post to minimise the time spent down below. However, the key new features were architectural and were to mark a turning point in Gitana’s future projects.

Foil Attitude

Going ever faster, such is the leitmotif of offshore racing teams. In 2013, the AC72s, winged catamarans from the America’s Cup, definitively propelled the multihulls into a new era: that of flying boats. Benefiting from the expertise and experience of the Cup in this domain, the Gitana Team set off on the adventure in 2014 with its sights on the open ocean!

“There’s a full-on revolution going on in sailing, and more specifically ocean racing. We’re in the process of writing a new alphabet and we’re on letter A,” Baron Benjamin de Rothschild

2014, the first steps towards a flying oceanic trimaran

With the Multi70 Edmond de Rothschild tied up to the dock in Itajai for a couple of days after her victorious race in the Transat Jacques Vabre 2013, the aim of creating a flying oceanic trimaran was already on everyone’s minds within Gitana Team. However, the refit time available to the team the following winter is not enough to fine-tune all the envisaged modifications – new rudders, latest generation foils, work on the sail plan – before the start of the Route du Rhum in November 2014. The team gets together with Guillaume Verdier, a renowned French architect responsible for Team New Zealand’s first flights during the last America’s Cup. For the first phase of the project, it is decided that the emphasis needs to be placed on the float rudders. Over the course of the winter 2014, those which had equipped the trimaran since her launch gave way to T-foil rudders; the appendages that became a familiar sight on inshore craft (bay races) during the Cup, but are still highly unusual for a large oceanic multihull.

float rudder / T-foil rudder

The Multi70 Edmond de Rothschild’s T-foil rudders are the fruit of a close collaboration between Gitana’s design office, naval architect Guillaume Verdier and the members of Team New Zealand that are Jamie France, Bobby Kleinschmit and the Pure Design company.

“The aim of these float rudders, equipped with lifting surfaces, is to reduce the boat’s pitching at sea. This increased stability enables significant gains in average speed, as well as in the boat’s handling.” Sébastien JosseSkipper Edmond de Rothschild

2015, ready for take-off!

The appendages trialled during the Route du Rhum had proven their effectiveness, as testified by the Multi70 Edmond de Rothschild’s 3rd place against the XXL competition, as well as backing up the team’s choices. As such, Phase 2 of the initial project could commence. Over the winter of early 2015, the trimaran is kitted out with asymmetric foils – L-foils to port and C-foils to starboard – and more high volume T-foil rudders.

“Sustaining a 70-foot trimaran offshore single-handed is already a challenge in itself, but getting her to fly is something else entirely! With this 2015 iteration, we’re entering a whole new dimension; a period of essential fine-tuning and testing for the next stage in Gitana Team’s projects. The theoretical studies and simulations are essential, but they will never be enough on their own as nothing can replace practical time out on the water. We’re incredibly lucky to be able to test the architectural possibilities in real situations on the Multi70 Edmond de Rothschild.” Antoine KochHead of the design office

Asymmetric foils to continue the research

Hydro-dynamically, the C-foil is a very efficient appendage as it generates very little drag. Its ability to generate vertical lift no longer needs to be proven, but if we are considering flight, it lacks stability.

The L-shaped foil generates significant drag, but provides great stability and hence sizeable savings in relation to the platform’s drag. However, we’re still lacking information about how the boat handles in the sea with this type of appendage.

”We’ve been pleased with how the boat behaves but we’re not yet satisfied by the peak speeds attained. As such, we’ll continue with the test process until such time as we’ve reached all the goals we’ve set ourselves. The sea trials have given us a chance to check our theoretical data relating to the different behaviour of the boat according to either an L-foil or a C-foil. For the time being, we’re keen to continue our investigations along the L-foil route. The appendage currently fitted to the port float will be revised so we can quickly switch up to a V2.” Sébastien JosseSkipper Edmond de Rothschild

Track record

  • 2015
  • 1st
    Winner of the Tour de Belle-Ile holder of the event record 2 hours 24 minutes and 45 seconds
  • 2014
  • 3th
    3rd in the Route du Rhum - Destination Guadeloupe 8 days, 14 hours, 47 minutes and 9 seconds
  • 1st
    Winner of the Défi Azimut
  • 2013
  • 1st
    Winner of the Transat Jacques Vabre 11 days 5 hours 3 minutes and 54 seconds
  • 1st
    Winner of the Route des Princes
  • 1st
    Winner of the ArMen Race
  • 2012
  • 1st
    Winner of the Tour de Belle-Ile
  • 2nd
    2nd in the Krys Ocean Race 4 days 22 hours 19 minutes and 49 seconds

MULTI70 EDMOND DE ROTHSCHILD

A l’origine, cette unité était un trimaran monotype de 70 pieds appartenant à la classe des MOD70. Mais depuis, le multicoque a connu de nombreuses transformations pour devenir un véritable laboratoire d’essais. Avec ses 21,3 mètres de long et ses 17 mètres de large, ce voilier est largement inspiré des anciens multicoques de la classe Orma.

FRA 4

N° de voile

GITANA XV
Nom de baptême
Catégorie Multicoque, Ultime Longueur 21.3 m
Année de mise à l'eau 2011 Architecte(s) VPLP, BE Gitana
Surface près 310 m² Surface portant 409 m²





Mis à l’eau fin 2011, le trimaran était initialement destiné à un championnat monotype regroupant près de sept multicoques identiques. Dans ce cadre, il a participé en 2012 à la Transat inaugurale entre New York et Brest - La Krys Ocean Race - dont il a pris la 2e place ou encore à un tour de l’Europe des Multicoques. Mais en 2013, faute de circuit, le Gitana Team se construit un programme sur mesure, avec l’ArMen Race, la Route des Princes, la Rolex Fastnet Race sans oublier la participation de la paire Josse - Caudrelier à la Transat Jacques Vabre qui en sera sans conteste le point d’orgue.

En 2014, le multicoque armé par le Baron Benjamin de Rothschild est adapté aux navigations en solitaire afin de participer à la Route du Rhum dans la catégorie reine des Ultimes. Ne respectant plus une stricte monotypie, le voilier devient le Multi70 Edmond de Rothschild. Avant de s’élancer sur la célèbre transatlantique entre Saint Malo et Pointe-à-Pitre, le trimaran a subi quelques transformations. A commencer par des travaux d’ergonomie pour adapter le plan de pont au solitaire. Ainsi, des protections supplémentaires ont été apportées aux postes de barre et au piano, la casquette existante a été remplacée et un poste de veille extérieur a été imaginé pour minimiser le temps passé à l’intérieur. Mais les principales nouveautés sont architecturales et vont marquer un virage pour les futurs projets du Gitana.

Foil Attitude

Aller toujours plus vite, tel est le leitmotiv des équipes de course au large. En 2013, les AC72 - ces catamarans ailés de l’America’s Cup - ont définitivement propulsé les multicoques dans une nouvelle ère : celle des bateaux volants. Bénéficiant du savoir-faire et de l’expérience des équipes de la Coupe dans ce domaine, le Gitana Team s’est lancé dès 2014 dans l’aventure mais avec pour ambition le grand large !

« La voile, et plus précisément la course au large, est en pleine révolution. Nous sommes entrain d’écrire un nouvel alphabet et nous en sommes à la lettre A » Baron Benjamin de Rothschild

2014, premiers pas vers un trimaran océanique volant

Tandis que le Multi70 Edmond de Rothschild est amarré depuis quelques jours à Itajai après une traversée victorieuse sur la Jacques Vabre 2013, l’ambition d’un trimaran océanique volant est déjà dans tous les esprits au sein du Gitana Team. Mais le temps de chantier dont l’équipe dispose l’hiver suivant n’est pas suffisant pour réaliser et mettre au point l’ensemble des modifications imaginées - nouveaux safrans, foils de dernière génération, travail sur le plan de voilure - avant le départ de la Route du Rhum en novembre 2014. L’équipe se rapproche de Guillaume Verdier – architecte français de renom à l’origine des premiers vols de Team New Zealand lors de la dernière America’s Cup. Pour la première phase du projet, il est décidé de mettre l’accent sur les safrans de flotteurs. Au cours de l’hiver 2014, ceux qui équipaient le trimaran depuis sa mise à l’eau ont ainsi laissé place à des safrans en T ; des appendices devenus familiers sur des unités inshore (régates en baie, ndlr) depuis la Coupe mais encore bien singuliers pour un grand multicoque océanique.

Différence entre un safran classique et un safran en T

Les safrans en T du Multi70 Edmond de Rothschild sont le fruit d’une étroite collaboration entre le bureau d’études Gitana, l’architecte Guillaume Verdier et les membres de Team New Zealand que sont Jamie France, Bobby Kleinschmit ainsi que la société Pure Design.

« L’objectif de ces safrans de flotteurs, dotés de plans porteurs, est de diminuer le tangage du bateau dans la mer. Cette plus grande stabilité permet un gain significatif sur la vitesse moyenne ainsi que dans la conduite du bateau. » Sébastien JosseSkipper Edmond de Rothschild

2015, paré au décollage !

Les appendices testés lors de la Route du Rhum ont montré leur efficacité, comme en témoigne la 3e place du Multi70 Edmond de Rothschild face à la concurrence XXL, et ont confortés les choix de l’équipe. La phase 2 du projet initial pouvait dès lors démarrer. Au cours de l’hiver 2015 le trimaran est équipé de foils asymétriques - L à bâbord et C à tribord - et de safrans en T plus volumineux.

« Sustenter un trimaran de 70 pieds au large et en solitaire est déjà un vrai challenge mais le faire voler est encore autre chose ! Avec cette version 2015, nous entrons dans une autre dimension, une période de mise au point et de tests indispensables pour la suite des projets du Gitana Team. Les études et simulations théoriques sont capitales mais elles ne seront jamais suffisantes car rien ne remplace la pratique. Nous avons une chance incroyable de pouvoir tester les pistes architecturales au réel sur le Multi70 Edmond de Rothschild » Antoine KochResponsable du Bureau d'études Gitana

Des foils asymétriques pour poursuivre les recherches

Le foil en C est un appendice très efficace hydro-dynamiquement car il génère très peu de traînée. Sa capacité à générer de la portance verticale n’est plus à démontrer mais si nous nous intéressons au vol, il manque de stabilité.

Le foil en L génère une traînée importante mais assure une grande stabilité et donc un gain important sur la traînée de plateforme. Mais nous manquons encore d’informations sur le comportement du bateau dans la mer avec ce type d’appendices.

"Nous sommes satisfaits par le comportement du bateau mais pas encore par les vitesses de pointe atteintes. Les tests vont donc se poursuivre jusqu’à ce que nous atteignions l’ensemble des objectifs que nous nous sommes fixés. Ces navigations nous ont permis de vérifier nos données théoriques sur les différences de comportement du bateau avec le foil en L ou le foil en C. Et pour l’heure, la voie dans laquelle nous souhaitons continuer nos investigations est celle du foil en L. L’appendice qui équipe actuellement le flotteur bâbord va être revu pour naviguer rapidement avec une V2.» Sébastien JosseSkipper Edmond de Rothschild

Le palmarès

  • 2015
  • 1er
    Vainqueur du Tour de Belle-Ile détenteur du record de l’épreuve 2 heures 24 minutes et 45 secondes
  • 2014
  • 3e
    3e de la Route du Rhum - Destination Guadeloupe 8 jours, 14 heures, 47 minutes et 9 secondes
  • 1er
    Vainqueur du Défi Azimut
  • 2013
  • 1er
    Vainqueur de la Transat Jacques Vabre 11 jours 5 heures 3 minutes et 54 secondes
  • 1er
    Vainqueur de la Route des Princes
  • 1er
    Vainqueur de l’ArMen Race
  • 2012
  • 1er
    Vainqueur du Tour de Belle-Ile
  • 2nd
    2e de la Krys Ocean Race 4 jours 22 heures 19 minutes et 49 secondes