GITANA EIGHTY

Designed by Farr Yacht Design, built in New Zealand and launched in July 2007, Gitana Eighty took her name in tribute to Baron Benjamin de Rothschild’s father, Edmond de Rothschild, who would have been 80 years of age when she was created.

FRA 80

Sail number

GITANA EIGHTY
Given name
Category IMOCA60 monohull Length 18.28 m
Year of launch 2007 Naval architect(s) Farr Yacht Design
Upwind sail area 280 m² Downwind sail area 460 m²

With the Vendée Globe 2008-2009 as its major aim, Gitana Team’s monohull was in 2008 one of the very latest Farr designs, sistership to Jean-Pierre Dick’s Paprec Virbac. In addition to a significant series of innovations with regards the boat’s interior fit-out, Gitana Eighty benefits from a hull bottom with variable geometry built into the boat, referred to as a trim tab, which regulates the boat’s longitudinal trim. Another innovation: the sliders, two sliding panels between the mast and the aft platform, introducing aerodynamic gains and optimising the monohull’s ergonomics so as to spare the skipper’s efforts and his physical stamina.

Skippered by Loïck Peyron, Gitana Eighty shone in the various events that formed the IMOCA race schedule in 2007 and 2008, notably with an historic victory in The Transat. Ranking among the firm favourites in the Vendée Globe 2008, Loïck Peyron proved to be one of the main protagonists at the start of this race, but he was later forced to retire after suffering a dismasting in the Indian Ocean.

Gitana Eighty, rechristened a number of times since her sale in 2009, remains a very solid boat and is still sailing the seas of the globe. In fact, she will be at the start of the Vendée Globe 2016 - 2017 alongside Gitana 16.

Track record

  • 2008
  • 1st
    Winner of the Record SNSM 2008
  • 1st
    Winner of The Transat 2008 12 days 11 hours 45 minutes and 35 seconds
  • 2007
  • 1st
    Winner of the Transat BtoB 2007 14 days 9 hours 13 minutes and 25 seconds
  • 8th
    8th in the Transat Jacques Vabre 2007 18 days 7 hours 33 minutes and 55 seconds

GITANA EIGHTY

Dessiné par le cabinet Farr, construit en Nouvelle-Zélande et mis à l’eau en juillet 2007, Gitana Eighty a été baptisé ainsi en hommage au père du Baron Benjamin de Rothschild, Edmond de Rothschild, qui aurait eu 80 ans lors de sa « naissance ».

FRA 80

N° de voile

GITANA EIGHTY
Nom de baptême
Catégorie Monocoque, IMOCA60 Longueur 18.28 m
Année de mise à l'eau 2007 Architecte(s) Farr Yacht Design
Surface près 280 m² Surface portant 460 m²

Avec pour objectif majeur le Vendée Globe 2008-2009, le monocoque du Gitana Team est en 2008 l'un des tout derniers plans Farr, sistership de Paprec Virbac de Jean-Pierre Dick. Outre une importante série d'innovations apportée au niveau de l'aménagement intérieur du bateau, Gitana Eighty bénéficie d'un fond de coque à géométrie variable, appelé trim tab qui régule l'assiette longitudinale du bateau. Autre innovation importante : les sliders, deux panneaux coulissants entre le mât et la plateforme arrière offrant des gains aérodynamiques et optimisant l’ergonomie du monocoque afin de ménager l'homme et sa condition physique.

Skippé par Loïck Peyron, Gitana Eighty brille sur les différentes épreuves du calendrier IMOCA en 2007 et 2008 avec notamment une victoire historique sur la Transat Anglaise. Comptant parmi les grands favoris du Vendée Globe 2008, Loïck Peyron sera en effet l’un des grands animateurs du début de cette course mais il sera contraint à l’abandon suite à un démâtage dans l’Océan Indien.

Gitana Eighty, rebaptisé de nombreuses fois depuis sa vente en 2009, demeure un très bon bateau et navigue toujours à travers les mers du globe. Il sera d’ailleurs au départ du Vendée Globe 2016 - 2017 au côté de Gitana 16.

Le palmarès

  • 2008
  • 1er
    Vainqueur du Record SNSM
  • 1er
    Vainqueur de la Transat Anglaise 12 jours 11 heures 45 minutes et 35 secondes
  • 2007
  • 1er
    Vainqueur de la Transat BtoB 14 jours 9 heures 13 minutes et 25 secondes
  • 8e
    8e de la Transat Jacques Vabre 18 jours 7 heures 33 minutes et 55 secondes