GITANA 11

Built in 2001, with the name Belgacom, this 60-foot trimaran joined Baron Benjamin de Rothschild’s stable in 2004, where she became Gitana 11. In 2009, the multihull was lengthened by 17-feet to compete in the Ultime Category in the Route du Rhum.

FRA 11

Sail number

GITANA 11
Given name
Category Multihull, ORMA60 then Ultime Length 23.51 m
Year of launch 2001 (2009) Naval architect(s) VPLP yacht design
Upwind sail area 310 m² Downwind sail area 450 m²

This trimaran is one of the emblematic multihulls from the golden age of the ORMA class. Launched under a Belgian flag in 2001, she was bought by Baron Benjamin de Rothschild three years later so as to mix things up a bit within the Gitana fleet and prompt the stable’s rise in power. Indeed, though Gitana X has the role of a ‘training boat’ dedicated to the detection of young talent, Gitana 11 was purchased with the aim of winning medals. Successively helmed by Frédéric le Peutrec, Lionel Lemonchois and Yann Guichard, this trimaran secured a series of prestigious podiums, ensuring Gitana’s name earned a place on the winners’ list of a number of races. However, her finest hour was surely in November 2006 on her crushing victory in the legendary Route du Rhum. A fan of major refits, the Gitana Team modified the multihull twice over. Over the course of the winter 2005-2006, the central hull was cut 50cm above the waterline so as to graft on a new section of hull below and a new daggerboard casing. The cockpit was also redefined and the reinforced floats were equipped with curved rather than the standard straight foils. In 2009, following the publication of the Notice of Race for the Route du Rhum 2010, which was opening the event to yachts from the Ultime class, it was decided to transform Gitana 11 into a 77-foot maxi-multihull.

A new lease of life in ten months: review of the broad outline of Gitana 11’s transformation

Profile of the two versions of G11

Transforming an existing boat rather than building a new craft, such is the bold challenge the Gitana Team set itself in 2009 to defend its title in the Route du Rhum 2010, turning Gitana 11 into a competitive boat capable of competing with rivals of giant proportions.

December 2008

Following weeks of work, the members of Gitana Team, naval architects VPLP yacht design and the structural engineering company HDS, turn in their reports. The studies are complete and now it’s time to get down to business. It’s a few days before Christmas, in the privacy of the technical shed at Saint-Philibert, south-west Brittany, that the work to transform Gitana 11 begins. The technical team starts by stripping the trimaran’s platform right back before releasing her old floats.

January 2009

2009 gets off to a cracking start. The construction of new floats, entrusted to Southern Ocean Marine, kicks off in the Antipodes. Meantime, the creation of a new bow for the central hull begins in Arcachon, south-west France, at the Larros yard. In Saint-Philibert, the technicians at Gitana Team tackle the cutting out of the bow and the lengthening of the aft section of the central hull, whilst the engineers in the offices are modelling the pods, which will house the helming stations on the one hand and the cockpit on the other.

February 2009

The design and installation of the helming stations are one of the thorny issues in this transformation. Two members of the technical team work on it full-time for nearly four months. Once the plans for these pods come to an end, the technicians are able to proceed with the construction of the moulds that will form the different parts. At the same time, on the multihull platform, another group is busying itself with modifying the deck layout. Originally, Gitana 11 had dual helming stations to leeward and windward, but in order to make the boat better geared up for solo sailing, it is decided to position all the controls in the cockpit. To do this, the most notable changes are the repositioning of the existing primary winches and the creation of a central coffee grinder.

March 2009

The beams, which are among the few parts retained from the original design, need to be considerably beefed up so as to support the new floats. Indeed, the new configuration of the trimaran and notably the lengthening of the hulls translate as greater stresses on the platform.

April 2009

In order to optimise the system for balancing the boat and boost Gitana 11’s power in certain conditions, Yann Guichard is keen to add a ballast tank (to the two that already exist) to the central hull, below the companionway. Ballast tanks are essentially carbon tanks, which have valves to enable the latter to be filled. The manufacture but above all the implementation of such a part is never an easy operation, given how cramped the chosen sites are.

May 2009

The pods are in place and the team in charge of this section are now busying themselves with the fit-out: installation of specially designed seats, manufacture and adjustment of the Perspex, which extends the pods… Modifications have also been made to Gitana 11’s mast. Indeed, though the trimaran’s sail plan is similar to that of the 2006 version, the hooking systems (solent hook for example) have been designed to guarantee performance and safety.

June 2009

On 6 June, the first float built in New Zealand arrives at the hangars in Saint-Philibert. The appearance of this wide load from the port of Le Havre heralds the start of assembly. The positioning and grafting of this first key piece of the puzzle will take nearly three weeks so as to get the dihedral angle between the two planes just right.

July 2009

No downtime for the team’s experts since the second float makes its appearance on 2 July. It heralds the repeat of a similar operation to balance out the maxi-trimaran. A few days later, the bow of the newly received central hull is the next addition. The positioning and adjustment of this new section spanning nearly 7 metres involves some tricky, meticulous structural work.

August 2009

On 17 August, the team launches into the home straight of the ambitious refit. The structural work of the platform is complete and the members of Gitana Team busy themselves with the installation of all the equipment that is essential to its smooth running: reassembly of the deck hardware, the finishing touches to the electronics installation and computers, followed by tests to validate the new systems, rigging of the halyards, blocks and numerous other lines which are required on such a boat.

September 2009

On 7 September, the eagerly awaited moment has arrived. Gitana 11, the second of that name, is launched and her new lines are unveiled.

Track record

  • 2011
  • 1st
    Winner of the Tour de Belle-Ile 2 hours 42 minutes
  • 2010
  • 4th
    4th in the Route du Rhum 11 days 11 hours 56 minutes and 38 seconds
  • 2006
  • 1st
    Winner of the Route du Rhum 7 days 17 hours 19 minutes and 6 seconds
  • 3th
    3rd in the Multi Cup Café Ambassador
  • 2005-2007
  • 2nd
    2nd the Transat Jacques Vabre 2005 and 2007
  • 2nd
    2nd in the ORMA Championship 2005
  • 3th
    3rd in the IB Groupe Challenge (Lorient – Nice) 8 days 23 hours 40 minutes and 55 seconds
  • 2004
  • 9th
    9th in The Transat 11 days 9 hours 20 minutes and 54 seconds

GITANA 11

Construit en 2001, sous le nom de Belgacom, ce trimaran de 60 pieds rejoint l’écurie du Baron Benjamin de Rothschild en 2004, où il devient Gitana 11. En 2009, le multicoque est allongé de 17 pieds pour figurer dans la catégorie Ultime de la Route du Rhum.

FRA 11

N° de voile

GITANA 11
Nom de baptême
Catégorie Multicoque, ORMA60 puis Ultime Longueur 23.51 m
Année de mise à l'eau 2001 (2009) Architecte(s) Cabinet VPLP
Surface près 310 m² Surface portant 450 m²

Ce trimaran est l’un des multicoques emblématiques de la classe ORMA dans ses plus belles années. Lancé sous pavillon Belge en 2001, il est acheté par le Baron Benjamin de Rothschild trois ans plus tard afin de venir diversifier la flotte Gitana et d’appuyer la montée en puissance de l’écurie. Car si Gitana X occupe un rôle de « bateau école » dédié à la détection de jeunes talents, Gitana 11 est acquis avec des ambitions de victoires. Successivement barré par Frédéric le Peutrec, Lionel Lemonchois, Yann Guichard, ce trimaran a accroché de prestigieux podiums et ainsi inscrit le nom des Gitana à de nombreuses courses mais il a incontestablement gagné ses plus belles lettres de noblesse en novembre 2006 lors de son écrasante victoire dans la mythique Route du Rhum.

Adepte des grands chantiers, le Gitana Team modifie par deux fois le multicoque. Durant l’hiver 2005-2006, la coque centrale est coupée à 50 cm au-dessus de la ligne de flottaison afin d’y greffer une nouvelle carène et un nouveau puits de dérive, de redéfinir le cockpit et de renforcer les flotteurs dotés de foils courbes et non plus droits. En 2009, suite à la publication de l’avis de course de la Route du Rhum 2010 - qui rouvre l’épreuve aux voiliers de la classe Ultime - il est décidé de modifier Gitana 11 pour qu’il devienne un maxi-multicoque de 77 pieds.

Dix mois pour renaître : retour sur les grandes lignes du chantier de transformation de Gitana 11

Gitana 11 version 2006 - Gitana 11 version 2009

Transformer un voilier existant plutôt que construire une nouvelle unité, tel est l’audacieux challenge que s’est fixé le Gitana Team en 2009 pour défendre son titre sur la Route du Rhum 2010 et faire de Gitana 11 un bateau compétitif face à des adversaires aux mensurations de géants.

Décembre 2008

Suite à des semaines de séances de travail, les membres du Gitana Team, le cabinet d’architecture navale VPLP et la société de calcul HDS rendent leur copie. Les études s’achèvent et laissent place au concret. C’est à quelques jours de Noël, dans l’intimité des hangars techniques de Saint-Philibert, que débute le chantier de transformation de Gitana 11. L’équipe technique procède alors à la mise à nu de la plateforme du trimaran avant de le libérer de ses anciens flotteurs.

Janvier 2009

L’année 2009 commence sur les chapeaux de roues. La construction des nouveaux flotteurs, confiée à Southern Ocean Marine, a débuté aux antipodes. Dans le même temps, la réalisation de la nouvelle étrave de la coque centrale démarre à Arcachon au sein du chantier Larros. A Saint-Philibert, les techniciens du Gitana Team s’attaquent au découpage de l’étrave ainsi qu’à l’allongement de l’arrière de la coque centrale, tandis que dans les bureaux les ingénieurs modélisent les nacelles qui accueilleront les postes de barre de part et d’autre du cockpit.

Février 2009

La conception et la mise en place des nacelles de postes de barre constituent l’un des dossiers épineux du chantier de transformation. Deux membres de l’équipe technique y ont travaillé à plein temps durant près de quatre mois. Une fois les plans de ces nacelles arrêtés, les techniciens ont pu procéder à la construction des moules dont seront issues les pièces. Parallèlement, sur la plateforme du multicoque, un autre groupe s’est attelé à la modification du plan de pont. A l’origine, les barres de Gitana 11 étaient excentrées sur le bras arrière mais afin de rendre le bateau plus adapté au solitaire, il a été décidé de placer l’ensemble des commandes au niveau du cockpit. Pour cela, il a fallu notamment déplacer les winches primaires existants et créer une colonne de winches centrale.

Mars 2009

Les bras de liaison, qui comptent parmi les rares pièces conservées, réclament d’être largement renforcés pour accueillir les nouveaux flotteurs. En effet, la nouvelle configuration du trimaran et notamment l’allongement des coques induit des efforts plus importants.

Avril 2009

Afin d’optimiser la gestion de l’équilibre du bateau et d’augmenter la puissance de Gitana 11 dans certaines conditions, Yann Guichard a souhaité ajouter un ballast (deux étant déjà existants) dans la coque centrale, sous la descente. Schématiquement, les ballasts sont des réservoirs en carbone qui disposent de vannes permettant le remplissage de ces derniers. La fabrication mais surtout la mise en place d’une telle pièce n’est jamais une opération aisée tant les emplacements choisis sont exigus.

Mai 2009

Les nacelles sont en place et l’équipe chargée du dossier s’attèle désormais à l’aménagement : mise en place des sièges spécialement conçus, fabrication et ajustement des plexiglas qui prolongent les nacelles … Des modifications ont également été apportées au mât de Gitana 11. Car si le plan de voilure du trimaran est similaire à celui de la version 2006, des systèmes d’accroche (hook de solent par exemple) ont été pensés pour garantir performance et sécurité.

Juin 2009

Le 6 juin, le premier flotteur construit en Nouvelle-Zélande rejoint les hangars de Saint-Philibert. L’arrivée de ce convoi exceptionnel en provenance du Havre marque le début de l’assemblage. Le positionnement et le greffage de cette première pièce maîtresse du puzzle dureront près de trois semaines afin respecter au mieux le dièdre

Juillet 2009

Pas de temps morts pour les orfèvres du team puisque le 2 juillet le deuxième flotteur arrive à son tour. C’est alors une opération similaire qui se répète pour rendre son équilibre au maxi-trimaran. Quelques jours plus tard, l’étrave de la coque centrale fraîchement réceptionnée, vient à son tour prendre place. Le positionnement et l’ajustement de ce nouveau tronçon de près de 7 mètres sont une partie délicate et minutieuse des travaux

Août 2009

Le 17 août débute la dernière ligne droite de l’ambitieux chantier. Les travaux structurels de la plateforme sont terminés et les membres du Gitana Team s’attèlent au montage et à la mise en place de tout l’équipement essentiel à sa bonne marche : remontage de l’accastillage, finition de l’installation électronique et informatique suivie de tests de validation des nouveaux systèmes, mise en place des drisses, poulies et autres nombreux bouts qui existent à bord d’un tel bateau.

Septembre 2009

Le 7 septembre le moment tant attendu est venu. Gitana 11, deuxième du nom, est mis à l’eau et dévoile ses nouvelles lignes.

Le palmarès

  • 2011
  • 1er
    Vainqueur du Tour de Belle-Ile 2 heures 42 minutes
  • 2010
  • 4e
    4e de la Route du Rhum 11 jours 11 heures 56 minutes et 38 secondes
  • 2006
  • 1er
    Vainqueur de la Route du Rhum 7 jours 17 heures 19 minutes et 6 secondes
  • 3e
    3e de la Multi Cup Café Ambassador
  • 2005-2007
  • 2nd
    2e de la Transat Jacques Vabre 2005 et 2007
  • 2nd
    2e du Championnat ORMA
  • 3e
    3e de l’IB Groupe Challenge (Lorient – Nice) 8 jours 23 heures 40 minutes et 55 secondes
  • 2004
  • 9e
    9e de la Transat Anglaise 11 jours 9 heures 20 minutes et 54 secondes