GC32 EDMOND DE ROTHSCHILD

A 32-foot flying catamaran, the GC32 Edmond de Rothschild joined the ranks of the five-arrow racing stable at the very start of 2015.

FRA 140

Sail number

GITANA FLY ONE
Given name
Category Flying catamaran Length 10 m
Year of launch 2015 Naval architect(s) Martin Fischer,
An idea by Laurent Lenne
Upwind sail area 83 m² Downwind sail area 173 m²





This 10-metre long Martin Fischer design (12 if you include the imposing bowsprit) is heavily inspired by the AC72s, the catamarans developed during the last America’s Cup, even though she’s not equipped with a fixed wing. Kitted out with L-foils and lifting surfaces on the float rudders, this multihull fully embodies the revolution taking over watersports, that of flying boats. Launched in 2013, the GC32 has boasted a dedicated international circuit since 2014.

Within the GITANA fleet, the GC32 Edmond de Rothschild fulfils various roles: a test platform for the company’s design office, this latest generation catamaran is above all the perfect training craft for the sailing team. Aboard her, the sailors are developing a whole new approach to modern sailing whilst reinforcing their team spirit, since this demanding craft requires perfect synchronisation among the crew to manoeuvre her while airborne.

A boat owner's challenge

“The initial sea trials on the GC32 were rather unsettling. You start off thinking you have the relevant knowledge, the feeling, because it’s essentially a sailboat with hulls, but in reality you have to forget all the reflexes that have become engrained over the years and start from scratch with it. These boats are no longer Archimedean boats and in terms of the sensation at the helm it’s a different ball game. You have to relearn the handling and the steering. Prior to this, the boats moved through the water with more linear movements, whilst these flying boats crab their way along. You have to take it as a given that this boat is a departure from all this as she now slips along on her appendages and you have to let her slip away enough to create her own speed. Finally, you have to add an element of aggressiveness so as to retain the lift and ensure the ‘flight’ is as stable as possible. It’s a thrilling learning curve. This boat is pretty impressive as despite our naivety in terms of handling her, from our very first sea trials we’ve easily been able to maintain average speeds of 30 knots on certain tacks, with peak speeds bordering on 35 knots. On a boat of this size, that’s very decent.” Sébastien Josseskipper of the GC32 Edmond de Rothschild

Track record

  • 2015
  • 1st
    Winner of the Tour de Belle-Ile (Short circuit) 2 hours 45 minutes and 10 seconds
  • Participation in the Bol d’Or Mirabaud

Photos & videos

Bol d'Or 2015
26 Photos
In the wake of Gitana - Season 2015 #3

GC32 EDMOND DE ROTHSCHILD

Catamaran volant de 32 pieds, le GC32 Edmond de Rothschild a rejoint les rangs de l’écurie aux cinq flèches tout début 2015.

FRA 140

N° de voile

GITANA FLY ONE
Nom de baptême
Catégorie Catamaran volant Longueur 10 m
Année de mise à l'eau 2015 Architecte(s) Martin Fischer,
sur une idée de Laurent Lenne
Surface près 83 m² Surface portant 173 m²





Ce plan Martin Fischer long de 10 mètres (12 si l’on comprend l’imposant bout dehors) s’inspire fortement des AC72, les catamarans développés lors de la dernière America’s Cup, bien qu’il ne soit pas pourvu d’une aile rigide. Equipé de foils en L et de plans porteurs sur les safrans de flotteurs, ce multicoque incarne parfaitement la révolution en marche dans le nautisme ; celle des bateaux volants. Lancé en 2013, le GC32 dispose d’un circuit international dédié depuis 2014.

Au sein de la flotte GITANA, le GC32 Edmond de Rothschild remplit différents rôles : plateforme d’essais pour le bureau d’études maison, ce catamaran de dernière génération est surtout un support d’entraînement idéal pour l’équipe navigante. A son bord, les marins développent une nouvelle approche de la voile moderne et renforcent leur esprit d’équipe puisque cet exigeant support requiert une synchronisation parfaite de l’équipage pour manœuvrer en vol.

Le défi d'un amateur

« Les premières navigations en GC32 étaient déroutantes. On arrive en croyant posséder un savoir, un feeling du fait que ça reste un bateau à voile avec des coques mais il faut oublier tous les réflexes ancrés en nous depuis des années pour en apprendre de nouveaux. Ce ne sont plus des bateaux archimédiens et au niveau du toucher de barre, les sensations sont vraiment différentes. Il y a une conduite, un pilotage à réapprendre. Avant les bateaux évoluaient avec des mouvements plus linéaires tandis que ces bateaux volants évoluent en crabe. Il faut accepter que le bateau se dérobe car il dérape désormais sur ses appendices et il faut le laisser se dérober suffisamment pour qu’il crée sa vitesse. Il y a enfin une part d’agressivité à trouver pour conserver la portance et s’assurer d’un vol le plus stable possible. C’est un apprentissage passionnant. Ce bateau est assez impressionnant car dès les premières sorties, malgré notre jeunesse dans son utilisation, nous avons facilement tenu des vitesses moyennes de 30 nœuds sur certains bords avec des pointes proches des 35 nœuds. Ce qui sur un bateau de cette taille est vraiment très honorable. » Sébastien Josseskipper du GC32 Edmond de Rothschild

Le palmarès

  • 2015
  • 1er
    Vainqueur du Petit Tour de Belle-Ile 2 heures 45 minutes et 10 secondes
  • Participation au Bol d’Or Mirabaud

Photos & vidéos

Bol d'Or 2015
26 Photos
Dans le sillage de Gitana #3