Send this page to a friend






Return to the news 02 May 2016

Bye Bye Plymouth!

The Transat bakerly Mono60 Edmond de Rothschild Sébastien Josse

A low pressure front, synonymous with deteriorating conditions punctuated by a change of wind direction and speed as well as rain, was set to roll across the start zone for the Transat bakerly this Monday. These forecasts played out to perfection on the water with the sky and the sea merging into a very English grey monochrome when, at 14:30 GMT+1 on the dot, the 25 solo sailors set sail for New York. The atmosphere was also pretty lively off the breakwater, which protects Plymouth Sound, with a WNW'ly wind of around fifteen knots or so and a big but manageable swell. At the helm of the Mono60 Edmond de Rothschild, Sébastien Josse managed to skilfully position himself on the line for a careful start in the leading group.

Whether you're driving a boat with one or several hulls, regardless of the potential horsepower under the ‘bonnet', casting off to set sail alone across the Atlantic is never easy. Sébastien Josse has made competition his profession and experience obviously helps in these personal moments where concentration and emotion both take centre stage. The skipper of Gitana Team is well aware of the strengths of the Mono60 Edmond de Rothschild as well as the unknowns he hopes to discover over the course of the very demanding 3,000-mile crossing. For now, the weather forecasts are still raising some questions, but the major options are set to quickly be revealed. Indeed, from tonight we're likely to get a more accurate idea of the intentions of the various skippers: will we see the fleet spread out, with one part favouring the north and the other the south, or will we see, in contrast, a bunching of the fleet? 

Quietly confident and happy to be tackling his 2016 sporting season with this legendary transatlantic race, Sébastien Josse shared his thoughts with us shortly before he climbed aboard the most recent of the Gitana fleet: “After analysing the latest grib files, there still appears to be two weather trends: a northerly course, with a very boisterous passage in a low at 50 degrees north, and a second trajectory, a little further south, which is fairly uncharacteristic of The Transat. Indeed, the latter would take us via the Bay of Biscay, Cape Finisterre (NW tip of Spain) and near the Azores, before linking onto a course due west towards the iceberg exclusion zone off Newfoundland. It's a very quick downwind trajectory, since we could be at Finisterre by tomorrow evening… To the north, it's a very different ball game with upwind conditions towards the Isles of Scilly and average speeds of around 10 knots involving a series of tacks, but that too is a shorter course. As such, we need to weigh up the pros and cons… However, from tonight or tomorrow morning at the latest, the skippers are likely to have revealed their hands. Aside from that, I feel good. I know that we haven't managed to rack up many hours of sailing on the boat this year yet, so I'm setting sail with what I already know and the idea is that I'll get my bearings first of all and then gradually pick up the pace. However things pan out, as ever, it's the weather that will dictate a great many things…" 

See more 29 photos


TRACKING: Follow the Mono60 Edmond de Rothschild on The Transat bakerly

 

Share photo album






Suggested articles

Envoyer cette page à un ami






Retour aux actualités 02 mai 2016

Bye Bye Plymouth !

The Transat bakerly Mono60 Edmond de Rothschild Sébastien Josse

Un passage de front dépressionnaire, synonyme d'un changement de régime de vent et d'une dégradation pluvieuse, était attendu sur la zone de départ de la Transat bakerly ce lundi. Des prévisions qui se sont parfaitement vérifiées sur l'eau ; le ciel et la mer se confondant dans un camaïeu de gris très anglais lorsque, à 15h30 précises, les 25 marins solitaires se sont élancés à destination de New York. L'ambiance était également animée au large du « breakwater », le brise-lame qui protège la baie de Plymouth, avec un vent d'Ouest Nord-Ouest d'une quinzaine de nœuds et une houle formée mais maniable. À la barre du Mono60 Edmond de Rothschild, Sébastien Josse parvenait à se placer habillement sur la ligne pour un départ prudent dans le paquet de tête.

Que l'on mène un bateau d'une ou plusieurs coques, développant plus ou moins de chevaux sous le capot, larguer les amarres pour s'élancer seul sur l'Atlantique n'est jamais chose facile. Sébastien Josse a fait de la compétition son métier et l'expérience l'aide évidemment dans ces moments où concentration et émotion cohabitent de façon très personnelle. Le skipper du Gitana Team a conscience des forces du Mono60 Edmond de Rothschild mais aussi des inconnues qu'il espère lever au fil de ces 3 000 milles de traversée sur un parcours des plus exigeants. Pour l'heure, les prévisions météorologiques posent encore de nombreuses interrogations mais les grandes options devraient rapidement s'observer. Dès la nuit prochaine, nous devrions en effet connaître plus précisément les intentions des uns et des autres : connaîtrons-nous une dispersion de la flotte avec d'un côté les partisans du Nord et de l'autre ceux du Sud ou au contraire une traversée groupée ? 

Serein et heureux d'attaquer sa saison sportive 2016 par cette transat mythique, Sébastien Josse s'est confié peu de temps avant de rejoindre le bord du dernier-né des Gitana : « Après analyse des derniers fichiers, il reste toujours deux tendances météo : une route Nord, avec un passage très musclé dans une dépression par 50 degrés Nord, et une deuxième trajectoire, un peu plus Sud qui n'est pas vraiment caractéristique de la Transat Anglaise. En effet, celle-ci nous ferait passer par le golfe de Gascogne, le cap Finisterre (Pointe Nord-Ouest de l'Espagne) et près des Açores pour enchaîner avec une traversée plein Ouest vers la zone d'exclusion des glaces de Terre-Neuve. Une trajectoire au portant très rapide puisque nous pourrions être à Finisterre dès demain soir… Au Nord, c'est une autre histoire avec du près vers les Scilly et des vitesses moyennes autour des 10 nœuds en tirant des bords mais c'est aussi une route plus courte. Il faut donc peser le pour et le contre... Mais dès cette nuit ou demain matin au plus tard, nous devrions voir les choix s'exprimer. Sinon, je me sens bien. Je sais que nous n'avons pas encore pu accumuler beaucoup d'heures de navigation sur le bateau cette année, alors j'y vais avec mes acquis, dans l'idée de prendre d'abord mes marques et de monter le rythme au fur et à mesure. Quoiqu'il arrive, comme toujours, c'est la météo qui va dicter beaucoup de choses… »

En voir plus 29 photos

CARTOGRAPHIE : Suivez le Mono60 Edmond de Rothschild sur The Transat bakerly

Partager cet album photo






Articles suggerés